SPORTS:Damodar College defeated Chowgule College to become the Goa city champions in Red Bull Campus Cricket 2018!



~ 250 plus colleges across 29 cities to compete for the national championship of Red Bull Campus Cricket 2018~


Goakhabar: After a spectacular season in 2017, Red Bull Campus Cricket returns to bowl over budding cricketers in the country. Taking the competition up one more notch, the global T20 college cricket tournament has added two new cities (Mysore & Raipur) to its roster and will witness the highest participation ever over 250 plus colleges across 29 cities.

Taking place from March 12 to the second week of April, the Red Bull Campus Cricket city qualifiers are taking place simultaneously across 29 cities – Mumbai, Baroda, Ahmedabad, Pune, Nagpur, Indore and Goa in the West

Upon invitation, Shree Damodar College, Parvatibai Chowgule College, MES College & BITS Pilani were the 4 college teams which participated in the Goa city qualifiers at BITS Pilani College ground. Damodar College won the final match against Chowgule College by 8 wickets to become the Goa city champions in Red Bull Campus Cricket 2018. Chwogule College won the toss and chose to bat first. Suyash Prabhudesai from Damodar College received the Man of the Match award for taking 4 wickets in 4 overs

Final Match Scorecard: Chowgule College – 88/9 – 20 Overs * Damodar College 90/2 – 9.4 Overs (Twenty20)

Damodar College will now represent Goa and face off against five other cities in the Regional/zonal finals in April. The top two teams from each zone will then compete in the National finals, where the teams will play in the knockout rounds of quarterfinals, semifinals and finals respectively. The National winner will then represent India in the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Series Championship 2018. Past winners from India that have gone on to represent the country at the World Championships are Rizvi College, Mumbai; DAV College, Chandigarh; Swami Shraddhanand College, Delhi; and MMC College, Pune.

Well-known Indian cricketers KL Rahul and Karun Nair have been associated with Red Bull Campus Cricket. Shradul Thakur, Manan Vohra, Siddhesh Lad, Himanshu Rana, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Anukul Roy, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ricky Bhui are other well-known faces who played RBCC Cricket in the past and emerging stars in the Indian Cricket scene.

Anukul Roy in India’s Playing XI was the highest wicket-taker and made a huge impact in the 2018 U19 cricket World Cup. He played RBCC National Finals last year, playing for Marwari College, Ranchi. Another Red Bull Campus Cricket alumnus Himanshu Rana also played for India at the 2018 Under-19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand.