Goa Khabar:The Department of Information and Publicity has announced the Goa State Journalists Awards selected by the State Journalists Awards Committee headed by Shri Gurudas Sawal here today.

The Best Editor Award on National Integration and Communal Harmony has been bagged by Shri Shashwat Gupta, Editor, Gomantak Times for his Editorial “Indo – Pak peace Zinda hai”. The award in RuralReporting has been bagged by Shri Devendra Ganesh Gaonkar, of Herald for his reports on rural reporting.The award for Reporting in Public Health and Hygiene has been bagged by Ms. Nibedita Sen, of Gomantak Times. The award for   Reporting with special reference to Women and Children/ Social issue has been bagged by Shri Vishwanath Nene of the Prudent Media.  Shri Sachin Korde of Lokmat, bagged the award  in Sport Reporting.  The award on   Reporting on Art and Culture has been bagged by Shri Vithal Gaude (Parwadkar), of Goa Doot.  The award in  Photo Journalism (Best Photograph of the year) is bagged by Shri Hemant Parab of the Navhind Times, for his picture about a daily wage worker enjoying his siesta on a cuddle swing.

          The awards will be presented at National Press Day function to be held on November 16, 2018 at Institute of Menezes Braganza hall, Panaji Goa.

 The state awards committee is headed by Shri Gurudas Sawal and comprises of members Shri Satish Naik, Shri Willy Goes and Shri Gurunath Pai. Shri John Aguiar is the Member Secretary of the committee.


   The Media Fraternity in Goa will observe the National Press Day on November 16. The theme of National Press Day for this year is “Journalistic Ethics and Challenges in Digital Era”.

The day has been observed every year to coincide with the foundation day of the Press Council of India.

Chief Minister, Shri Manohar Parrikar will inaugurate the National Press Day celebrations at a function to be held at Institute Menezes Braganza, Conference Hall, Panaji  on November 16, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. Shri Sudhir Mahajan (IAS) Secretary, Information and Publicity will be the guest of honour . The Department of Information and Publicity in collaboration with the Goa Editors’ Guild, the Goa Union of Journalists, Photo Journalists Association Goa, Electronic Media Journalists Association, Sports Journalists Association, and South Goa Journalists Association will organise the event.

Shri Dinkar Raikar, Group Editor of Lokmat, Mumbai will be the Key note speaker who will speak on the theme “Journalistic Ethics and Challenges in Digital Era”. Senior Journalists, Shri Jovito Lopes, Shri Somnath Raikar and Smt. Nayana Adarkar will be felicitated on the occasion for their substantial contribution in the field of Journalism at the hands of Chief Minister.

On the occasion, Journalists Awards will be presented to the winners organised by the Department of Information and Publicity to mark the National Press Day celebration.

The 16th of November – is symbolic of a free and responsible press in India. This was the day on which the Press Council of India started functioning as a moral watchdog to ensure that not only did the press maintain the high standards expected from this powerful medium but also that it was not fettered by the influence or threats of any extraneous factors.