Goa Khabar:The Goa state pavilion setup at the 38th edition of India International Trade Fair was inaugurated at iconic Pragati Maidan in the National Capital New Delhi today.

Information Officer Shri. Prakash Naik of the Department of Information & Publicity inaugurated the Goa Pavilion by cutting the ribbon. The Goa pavilion erected on an area of 56sqmts in 12 A – 05B space at Pragati Maidan is aesthetically designed depicting typical Goan culture with thrust on promoting rural enterprises, traditional occupations, industrial development, tourism promotion and handicraft items.

The theme of IITF for this year is Rural Enterprises in India.

The Department of Information & Publicity is the nodal agency for the participation of Goa state in IITF, an annual mega trade fair which play a key role in facilitating and coordinating with other participating departments and corporations for setting up the stall and conduct allied activities during the 14 days IITF period. These include Directorate of Industries, trade and commerce, Department of Tourism, GHRSSIDC, GTDC and GIDC. Media Promotion Pvt. Ltd., a reputed agency from Goa has executed the work of conceptualizing, designing, erection, maintenance and management of Goa pavilion and allied activities.

Apart from the day to day activities that will be carried out there will be cultural performances by Goan folk artists and sale of Goan artifacts by the artisans. Every year the Goa state participates in IITF with the prime objective to showcase and project Goa’s development achievements in varied sectors besides to promote the rich cultural traditions, Goan cuisine, courteous hospitality of Goan people, promote tourism activity and bring in investments to boost industrial growth and generate employment avenues to the Goan youth.

On the occasion, a brochure brought out incorporating the various schemes being implemented by the state government besides presenting the rich culture, festivals and traditional occupations of Goa was released by Shri. Prakash Naik.

The inaugural ceremony was also attended by Shri. Dhananjay Kerkar, Shri. Ajit Naik, Shri. Gokuldas Gawde,the officials attached to the participating departments.