FC Goa defeat Minerva Punjab 3-2 in pre-season friendly


~ The Gaurs recorded their 6th pre-season win out of 7 games played ~

GoaK habar: FC Goa defeated Minerva Punjab 3-2 in a pre-season friendly at the Bambolim Athletic Stadium on Tuesday. Len Doungel, Coro and Jackichand Singh netted for the Gaurs while Asier Dipanda Dicka and Makan Winkle Chothe bagged for the visitors.

Sergio Lobera’s men started with Coro up front flanked by the two Manipuri goal-scorers on either side. Princeton Rebello played in midfield, alongside Lenny Rodrigues and Edu Bedia, while Naveen Kumar started in goal.

The hosts got off to a lightning-fast start when Jackichand Singh’s cross found Doungel who headed it in. Doungel was again in for a second, but Bhaskar Roy’s quick reflexes saved his side. Minerva then equalised as Dicka was afforded a tap-in.

Coro then finished off a straight-forward chance as the Gaurs re-took the lead. Saviour Gama then conceded a penalty after a trip on a Minerva attacker. Naveen Kumar saved expertly from Dicka as FC Goa maintained their lead.

After half-time, Jacki extended the lead with a neat finish as the home side’s lead extended to two goals. Chothe then pulled another back for the visitors as he headed past Nawaz in goal. FC Goa’s substitutes then kept the Minerva attackers at bay for another win. The Gaurs have now won 6 of their 7 pre-season friendlies this year.

About FC Goa

FC Goa is a professional football club based out of Goa that competes in the Indian Super League (ISL) and is the current holder of the Super Cup and the Goa Professional League. The club is one of the most consistently successful teams in the ISL, having reached the playoffs a record 4 times – finishing runners-up in 2015 and 2019. The Gaurs are also the highest scoring side in ISL history and the reigning champions of the GFA U20 and GFA U18 leagues.

Co-owned by Mr Jaydev Mody, Mr Akshay Tandon and Mr Virat Kohli, the club has over the years produced talents such as Mandar Rao Desai, Princeton Rebello and Manvir Singh who have represented India at various age levels as well as the senior team.